Hawthorne Elementary School
Hawthorne Elementary School has the designation of being Elmhurst's oldest school. Its rich history was documented in newspapers and by the Elmhurst Historical Society.
Cottage Hill Elementary School was built back in 1888 on Cottage Hill Avenue between Arthur and Virginia streets. It was re-named Hawthorne in 1910. Elmhurst High School — a two-year school that later expanded to a four-year school — was added in 1892 to the top of the same building. A fire in 1917 destroyed the schools, but Hawthorne was rebuilt on the same site and opened in 1918, and the new York High School opened its doors on St. Charles Road in 1920.
As Elmhurst's population tripled between 1920 and 1930, the school became overcrowded and an addition was added in 1927 to serve seventh- and eighth-graders. This lasted until 1950, when Elmhurst Junior High (now Sandburg Middle School) opened on St. Charles Road.
Overcrowding has been a problem at the school periodically, and in 2006 the School Board approved a reconstruction project for the school at a cost of $13.5 million. The building was modernized and expanded, but its historical integrity was preserved. A two-story classroom addition was added and the main facade was restored within a 17-month period, during which time students continued to attend classes.
The principal is Stephen Smith.
- Fax: 630-993-8886
- Handicap Accessible: Yes
- Founding Date: Jan 01 1888
- Number of students: 588
- Public/Private: Public
- Parking: Free lot, On-street: free
- Grade levels: Kindergarten through fifth grade
- Features: Auditorium/stage, Cafeteria, Library