Contested Races For Elmhurst School, Park Board Seats

Two incumbents seek return to park board; three newcomers vying for school board spots.

Elmhurst School Board President Jim Collins and three others fill out the April 9 ballot seeking three seats on the panel.

Wednesday marked the end of the filing period for candidates in local races, including the school and park boards, as well as elected city positions.

Collins, first elected in 2009, will seek a second term. Emily Bastedo, Alan J. Brinkmeier and Margaret Harrell join Collins on the ballot. Voters will choose among the four to fill three seats on the board. Current members Susan DeRonne, elected in 1993, and Maria Hirsch, elected in 2009, did not file nominating petitions, according to the school district.

School board members are elected to four-year terms.

There will also be competition for a pair of spots on the Elmhurst Park District board. Incumbents Vince Spaeth and Patricia Morissette-Moll are seeking another six-year term. They are joined on the ballot by Doug Ennis. Voters will elect two of the three to serve on the board.

The contested races stretch across the city, with three candidates seeking to be Elmhurst's next mayor. Four aldermanic races will also be decided by voters among the seven wards.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »